Research Databases: Theater & Performance Production
Cornish Library - Theater and Performance Production Databases
For use by Cornish Students, Faculty and Staff.
When connecting from off campus, you will need to use your Compass user name and password.
ARTICLES - Journal Indexes and Journals
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on art, design, architecture, film, video, costume design and more. See list of journal titles.
-
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text articles on cinematography, film & television theory, preservation & restoration, production, reviews, technical aspects, screenwriting. See list of journal titles.
-
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance This link opens in a new windowSelect "Unlocked" on left side filter to access articles. Full text articles on drama, theatre, dance, choreography, modern dance, ballet, opera, puppetry, performance production, scenic design, lighting & sound design, costume, cinema, and film.
-
JSTOR (Arts & Sciences III) This link opens in a new windowArticles and images from academic journals on music, dance, theater, film studies, art and design, as well as religion. Artstor's content, key resources, and functionality are now on JSTOR. Interdisciplinary titles include folklore, feminist & women's studies, language, literature and other topics. Additional search instructions here.
-
Gale - Select Databases This link opens in a new windowA wide variety of resources on several topics. Full-text articles and more.
-
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowDue to a change from the WA State Library system, Cornish no longer subscribes to Proquest; we now have Gale Cengage. There are 3 free databases in Proquest we still have access to:
1. Publicly Available Content Database: Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available content from a number of different sources from around the world.
2. Coronavirus Research Database:A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
3. PTSDpubs (1871 - current): Literature related to traumatic stress - journal articles
-
Studies in Musical Theatre This link opens in a new windowThis peer-reviewed journal brings together a variety of critical approaches to contribute to the discussion surrounding live performance, the development and form of musical theatre and its value as a cultural product in theory and practice. Here, you will find a wealth of writing encompassing everything from opera to film musical to pop video.
-
PlaybillNews, feature and performance listings for Broadway, Off-Broadway, London and Regional Theatre.
DICTIONARY
-
Oxford English Dictionaryvia the Seattle Public Library Requires a Seattle Public Library card to access.
ENCYCLOPEDIA
-
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia Britannica plus additional research tools.
ELECTRONIC BOOKS
-
Ebsco Ebook Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic books collection. Over twice the size of the library's print collection and provides broader subject coverage for non-arts topics. Read books online with a user-friendly interface that requires no downloading or download books to desktop, laptop, or mobile device. Link to detailed tutorials.
MONOLOGUES
FIRST: Always check the annual monologue collections in the library's Reference Collection. See:
-
Cornish Library Monologue CollectionsChronological list of monologue collections from the library catalog.
PLAYS
-
New Play Exchange This link opens in a new windowA, "digital library of scripts by living writers." The site is a platform for submitting new plays, recommending plays, and connecting with other playwrights. Our Cornish subscription allows us to search and read plays on the site. It does not include the other services offered for individual subscriptions, such as play submission and recommendations. You do not have to register or login to access plays.
-
Playdatabase.comA monologue index. This catalog allows you to search by length of a play, for monologues, by gender, time period, age of characters, and more.
DIGITAL IMAGES
-
J. Willis Sayre Photograph CollectionThe Sayre Collection consists of more than 24,000 photographs of theatrical and vaudeville performers, musicians, and entertainers who played in Seattle between about 1900 and 1955 (some of the materials date back to the 1870s). John Cort, Sullivan, and Considine and Alexander Pantages all operated out of Seattle and the Sayre Collection includes not only the publicity photographs from New York photographers, but also hundreds done in Seattle, Portland, and San Francisco.
STREAMING VIDEO
-
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new windowPlease note that you need to be logged in to your Cornish Google Account to enable access to this resource.
Digital Theatre+ provides powerful ways to connect with dramatic texts, poetry and performance.
Access work from the Royal Shakespeare Company, the BBC, Frantic Assembly, BroadwayHD, the Lincoln Center Theater, the Old Vic, the Lyric Hammersmith, the Young Vic, the Stratford Festival, Complicité, Shakespeare's Globe, Gecko Theatre, the Donmar Warehouse, L.A. Theatre Works, the Liverpool Everyman, the Royal Opera House, the Almeida Theatre, the English Touring Theatre, the English National Ballet, and many more. -
NAXOS Video Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming video. Classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.
-
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new windowStreaming video of contemporary dance, theater, music, performance art, and more.
JOBS
-
Artsearch - TCGSince 1981, ARTSEARCH® has published job openings for the professional performing arts field. Whether you are looking for full-time or part-time, seasonal or year-round, paid or volunteer, ARTSEARCH® makes your job search easy.
See also:
Seattle Public Library Databases
Use your Seattle Public Library card number and PIN to log in.
Click here to connect to all Seattle Public Library Databases
FEATURED TITLES:
- Academic One File (articles)
- Kanopy (films)
- LinkedIn Learning (Learn a new skill at your own pace, with thousands of courses covering animation, business skills, marketing, design, photography, programming and much more)
- Microsoft Imagine Academy
- NY Times Historical (1850-2014)
- Opposing Viewpoints (articles)
- Oxford English Dictionary
How do I get a library card? Submit the form on this page to sign up for a free library card. If you have a mobile phone, you can get access within a few days. When the libraries have re-opened, you can visit any location to pick up your physical card.
Cornish students are eligible.
See full details.
Kanopy and New York Times Digital (72 hour access code) are available immediately after applying for a library card online; use your temp confirmation number as your library barcode. Access to the majority of SPL databases requires the barcode from a physical library card.
King Co. Library Databases
Use your King County Library card number and PIN to log in.
Click here to connect to all King County Library Databases
FEATURED TITLES:
- Academic One File (articles)
- Kanopy (films)
- Lynda.com (video tutorials)
- Microsoft Imagine Academy
- Newspaper Archive
- NY Times Historical (1850-2011)
- Opposing Viewpoints (articles)
- Oxford English Dictionary
How do I get a card? Apply online, and they can mail your card to you. Initially you will be able to access the online databases, but within a year, you will need to visit a branch library to show ID and verify your address with a piece of mail. Otherwise your card will eventually become inactive.
Cornish Students are eligible.
See full details.
King County residents (excluding Seattle, Yarrow Point, and Hunts Point) can apply for an eCard which gives immediate access to eBooks and magazines (along with all of their other online services). Link for eCard application.