Research Databases: Music
Cornish Library - Music Databases
For use by Cornish Students, Faculty and Staff.
When connecting from off campus, you will need to use your Compass user name and password.
ARTICLES - Journal Indexes
-
JSTOR (Arts & Sciences III) This link opens in a new windowArticles and images from academic journals on music, dance, theater, film studies, art and design, as well as religion. Artstor's content, key resources, and functionality are now on JSTOR. Interdisciplinary titles include folklore, feminist & women's studies, language, literature and other topics. Additional search instructions here.
-
Gale - Select Databases This link opens in a new windowA wide variety of resources on several topics. Full-text articles and more.
-
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowDue to a change from the WA State Library system, Cornish no longer subscribes to Proquest; we now have Gale Cengage. There are 3 free databases in Proquest we still have access to:
1. Publicly Available Content Database: Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available content from a number of different sources from around the world.
2. Coronavirus Research Database:A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
3. PTSDpubs (1871 - current): Literature related to traumatic stress - journal articles
-
Black Music History LIbraryBMHL is a living register of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 17th century to present day. Resources are organized by chronology, genre and/or geography for ease of browsing.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
-
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes The Grove Dictionary of Music plus Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
-
Britannica Online Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia Britannica plus additional research tools.
ELECTRONIC BOOKS
-
Ebsco Ebook Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic books collection. Over twice the size of the library's print collection and provides broader subject coverage for non-arts topics. Read books online with a user-friendly interface that requires no downloading or download books to desktop, laptop, or mobile device. Link to detailed tutorials.
DIGITAL IMAGES
DIGITAL SCORES
-
Babel scoresA digital library of musical scores entirely devoted to contemporary music; it provides a platform for the circulation and promotion of music written in the last 40 years
-
Contemporary Music Score CollectionThe Contemporary Music Score Collection is published by the UCLA Music Library. The collection of over 6,000 scores includes digital, open access scores published by the library from international composers.
-
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) / Petrucci Music LibraryPublic domain scores and recorded music.
-
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) / Other music score websitesExtensive list of digital collections in the U.S. and throughout the world. Includes links to other lists.
Covers classical, jazz, popular, sacred and other types of music. -
Pacific Northwest Sheet Music CollectionThe Pacific Northwest Sheet Music Collection is part of the Ashford Sheet Music Collection at the University of Washington Music Library. Digitized Pacific Northwest Sheet Music is all in the public domain. The Music Library, University of Washington, must be acknowledged as the source when using these images.
-
Sheet Music ConsortiumSearch or browse a wide array of digitized score and sheet music collections from many university collections.
SHEET MUSIC/SCORE INDEX
-
The Fake Book IndexA searchable index of over 75 mostly jazz-oriented fake books. Search the song title in the index, then search the fake book title in the Cornish Catalog. Cornish has some of these fake books; not all.
STREAMING MUSIC
-
NAXOS Music Library : Classical This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio. Covers early music to contemporary classical music. ALSO covers World Music and some other genres such as Folk, Gospel, and Musical Theater. See tutorial on using Naxos phone apps.
-
NAXOS Music Library : Jazz/Blues This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio. Mainly contemporary jazz, jazz, blues; with some pop and rock. See tutorial on using Naxos phone apps.
-
The Coop: Cornish RadioThis is The Coop, broadcasting from Cornish College of the Arts in Seattle! We're bringing you the hottest tunes, the sickest beats, and the most whimsical vibes.
-
Music @ CornishA collection of music of current and past Cornish faculty, current students, and alumni.
STREAMING VIDEO
-
Kanopy Films This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the KBASE selection of films available via Kanopy
-
NAXOS Video Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming video. Classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.
Seattle Public Library Databases
Use your Seattle Public Library card number and PIN to log in.
Click here to connect to all Seattle Public Library Databases
FEATURED TITLES:
- Academic One File (articles)
- Kanopy (films)
- LinkedIn Learning (Learn a new skill at your own pace, with thousands of courses covering animation, business skills, marketing, design, photography, programming and much more)
- Microsoft Imagine Academy
- NY Times Historical (1850-2014)
- Opposing Viewpoints (articles)
- Oxford English Dictionary
How do I get a library card? Submit the form on this page to sign up for a free library card. If you have a mobile phone, you can get access within a few days. When the libraries have re-opened, you can visit any location to pick up your physical card.
Cornish students are eligible.
See full details.
Kanopy and New York Times Digital (72 hour access code) are available immediately after applying for a library card online; use your temp confirmation number as your library barcode. Access to the majority of SPL databases requires the barcode from a physical library card.
King Co. Library Databases
Use your King County Library card number and PIN to log in.
Click here to connect to all King County Library Databases
FEATURED TITLES:
- Academic One File (articles)
- Kanopy (films)
- Lynda.com (video tutorials)
- Microsoft Imagine Academy
- Newspaper Archive
- NY Times Historical (1850-2011)
- Opposing Viewpoints (articles)
- Oxford English Dictionary
How do I get a card? Apply online, and they can mail your card to you. Initially you will be able to access the online databases, but within a year, you will need to visit a branch library to show ID and verify your address with a piece of mail. Otherwise your card will eventually become inactive.
Cornish Students are eligible.
See full details.
King County residents (excluding Seattle, Yarrow Point, and Hunts Point) can apply for an eCard which gives immediate access to eBooks and magazines (along with all of their other online services). Link for eCard application.