Method Sources Description
Method sources provide the lens through which you are approaching your problem. They are the sources that you are using to establish your methodology. Method sources are usually articles or book chapters that explain a theory that helps you decide how to approach your research and/or analysis.
| Searching: | Where to Look: | What Search Terms to Use: | What to Look For: |
| Method Sources | Scholarly Journal Articles via Library Databases (Communication and Mass Media Complete is the best choice, followed by Academic Search Complete), Books, Media Politics (Iyengar) | Keywords that help you find articles about the type of bias or framing you are investigating (or media bias or news frames more generally). You shouldn’t search for your event/issue/topic. Use Boolean logic and other search strategies that you learned in the library session. | One article, book, or book chapter that helps you explain, define, and better understand the type of bias or frame that you are investigating. It’s fine if the article is totally unrelated to your event/issue as long as it helps you know what to look for when you’re analyzing your news articles (exhibit sources). |
Databases
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text, indexing, and abstracts for communications & mass media.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowFrom business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,000 titlesnearly 2,800 in full textfrom 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
