Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons strives to be a good neighbor and community partner by continuing to provide use of the library's physical space and limited access to services.

Below you will find information on resources, materials, and spaces access for all the various university affiliated and non-affiliated groups. 

Any Student, Faculty, or Staff from another Alliance Member Institution is entitled to the same Library borrowing privileges via the reciprocal loaning agreement clause in the Orbis Cascade Alliance Summit borrowing program.  For information on this program, and to see if your school is included in the Orbis Cascade Alliance, visit the Orbis Cascade Alliance website.

Setting up your Visiting Summit Borrowing Account

You will want to set up your Summit visitor account when you get onsite. This will allow access to the building as well as allow you to check out items in the Lemieux Library Collection.

• To activate your visiting Summit Patron account, you will need to physically stop by the circulation desk located on the 3rd floor of the Library and present your home institution student ID card, as well as log in to your home institution library account.
• This processing can take up to 15 minutes.

Services for visiting Summit Patrons:

• Visiting Summit Patrons are allowed to check out a maximum of 100 Items at a time for up to 12 weeks with the possibility of one 6 week renewal.  Items on reserve, Special Collections items, and physical journals are not loanable. 
• Access to basic research assistance via the second-floor Information Desk.
• Access the University's Guest Wi-Fi through your personal devices. 
• Visiting Summit Patrons have limited access to a select number of library-licensed databases located at two walk-up visitor workstations on the second floor of the library. A list of the databases accessible on these terminals can be made available on request.
• Visiting Summit Patrons also have access to the microfilm/fiche/book scanners located in the third-floor computer lab. Details of these machines are available on request. 
• Visiting Summit Patrons can access and use the Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons attractive study spaces that are located throughout all 6 floors of the building including access to any of the 49 first come first serve individual study rooms.
• Visiting Summit Patrons can also request to use the library and other select University building for meetings by contacting the Office of University Events.
• Visiting Summit Patrons can obtain access to the library physical spaces during Swipe-to-Study periods. These Swipe-to-Study periods effectually only allow access to the building with a valid SU ID card. This level of "card only" access is in effect in the evenings, on weekends, and during breaks and Holidays. To arrange access to the building during these periods you will need to submit a request using the Contact the Library Form.

For any additional information questions or concerns please contact Aaron Morgan, Manager, Access Services or call 206-296-6233.

While Seattle University is a private institution, users who are not affiliated with Seattle University are allowed limited access to the Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons building and services as community guests.  The following services are available for Community Guests:

• Building access to the Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons is restricted during specified times of day to current Seattle University faculty, staff, and students with a valid Seattle University campus ID card. Please see the library's hours page for more information about hours of access for Community Guests. Community Guests can access and use the Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Common's attractive study spaces located throughout all 6 floors of the building including any of the 49 individual group study rooms.
• Community Guest can also request to use the library and other select University building for meetings by contacting the Office of University Events.
• Community Guests can access, but not check out, items in the library's physical collection located on floors three through five.
• Access to a selected number of library-licensed databases at the two walk-up Alumni and Visitor workstations located on the second floor of the library. A list of the databases accessible on these terminals can be made available on request.
• Access to basic research assistance via the second-floor Information Desk.
• Access the University's guest Wi-Fi through your personal devices. 
• Access to the microfilm/fiche/book scanners located in the third-floor computer lab. Details of these machines are available on request.       

At this time Community Guests do not have access to lab computers, printers, or copiers located in the library. 

Certain affiliates of the Catholic Archdiocese of Washington state can obtain access to physical materials, onsite database access, and use of the physical spaces for scholarly research.  Before visiting the library please, contact the library by filling out this form to request access. 

SU Colleges, Schools and Departments may sponsor guest accounts for visiting faculty members. Courtesy Faculty Affiliate Appointment Requests must be submitted to the Faculty Services office, not to the library.

The Jesuit Library Passport provides on-site borrowing privileges for faculty at any Jesuit University Library in the United States. Please see Jesuit Library Passport page for eligibility and protocols.

SU Faculty and staff may sponsor guest accounts for volunteers, members of visiting programs or conferences, etc. Arrangements must be made in advance. Sponsors will need to contact the Lemieux Library Access Services Department via this form request access for a guest.