Skip to Main Content

Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons

Guides

Catalog Search

Site Search

FAQ Search

Research, Scholarship, and Publication Impact Metrics

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Associate Librarian and Scholarly Services Librarian

Profile Photo
Yen Tran
She/Her
Contact:
Lemieux Library Second Floor iDesk
Subjects: Education, Social Work

Citation Tracking / Citation Analysis

Citation analysis, also called citation tracking or cited reference searching, is a way of measuring the relative importance or impact or an author, article, or publication, by counting the number of times that author, article, or publication has been cited by other works.

There are a number of tools available; however, no single database covers all works that cite other works. Searching across several databases is necessary to ensure complete coverage.

Information Below Includes

  • Tools for conducting citation analysis
  • How to set up alerts to see who is citing you

Tools for Conducting Citation Analysis

NOTE: Some databases require a subscription; Seattle University community has access to the following databases.

Google Scholar

Captures a wide variety of publication types (e.g., journal articles, white papers, slides) in any language.

  1. Search for the article or author

  2. View the number of citations and publications that have cited the article

Web of Science

Web of Science is a core database for citation searching as it provides citation analysis of an author's work, supplying who is citing whom, when, and where. this database captures citations for select journal articles and book chapters.

  1. Access Web of Science (log in with Single Sign On if off-campus)

  2. Search for the article or author

  3. From the detailed article information webpage, view the number of citations and where the article has been cited
    Image of Web of Science and where to find citation counts


How to Set Up Alerts to Keep Track of Who is Citing You

Set up alerts with the following tools/database to keep track of who is citing your work.

NOTE: Some databases require a subscription; Seattle University community has access to the following databases.

 

Google Scholar

Captures a wide variety of publication types (e.g., journal articles, white papers, slides) in any language.

  1. Sign up for a Google Scholar Profile. To track citations, you will need to make the profile public. Add all the documents you want to track citations for.

  2. On your profile page, find the “Follow” box on the top right. Click the “New citations to my articles” link and enter your preferred email address in the box that appears, then click “Done.”
    ‚Äč

Web of Science

Web of Science is a core database for citation searching as it provides citation analysis of an author's work, supplying who is citing whom, when, and where. this database captures citations for select journal articles and book chapters.

  1. Access Web of Science (log in with Single Sign On if off-campus)

  2. Register for a Web of Science account by clicking on "Sign In" at the upper right of the screen and then "Register"

  3. Search for the article you want to keep track of and select "Create Citation Alert"
    Image of Web of Science highlighting citation alert link