Data.gov, a new website launched by the Obama administration and consists of three searchable catalogs: raw data. tools and geodata.These initial datasets, which were nominated by Federal Executive Agencies are ones that have a high degree of consensus around definitions, are in formats that are readily usable, include the availability of metadata, and provide support for machine-to-machine data transfer. Data can be accessed in XML, Text/CSV, KML/KMZ, Feeds, XLS, or ESRI Shapefile formats

Look for articles which now contain separate links for downloading data

"CPANDA, the Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive, is the world's first interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States. "

the U.S Census Bureau's American FactFinder, is a source for United States population, housing, economic, and geographic data. The Census Bureau conducts nearly one hundred surveys and censuses every year.

he system contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Available titles include both current and historical data. Many of the current titles are available via email subscription.

Datasets from NBER sponsored research, a nonpartisan research organization whose mission is to promote how the economy works. Main page of web site has introductory comments about the working papers, highlighting new issues. The web site contains more than the WP. For instance, the data link on the left menu includes data link collected by the Census bureau in in partnership with the Census bureau: business cycle dates, Economic Report of the President and more.

The CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population.CPS data include employment, unemployment, earnings, hours of work, and other indicators

Open data for international development

AidData increases aid transparency by providing tools, visualizations, services, and data related to development finance

THe GGDC gets data for 8 datasets from the Conference Board, European Commission and the National Institute of Economic and Social Research. Three datasets: Total Economy (GDP for 103 countries); 60 Industry database; and International Comparison for Output and Productivity.

Includes climate records, climate statistics, and monthly weather summaries on Alaska and the polar regions

US Department of Energy open data site since 1991.

From the CEH specializes in integrated research in terrestrial and freshwater ecosystems and their interaction with the atmospherethe UK,

The Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP) Beta is a central hub of information, data and reports about climate change around the world.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. US Dept. of Health and Human Services Includes data sources on healthcare cost, quality, and accessibility, emergency room visits, hospitalization, and medical insurance.

Data and statistics on such topics as aging, alcohol, arthritis, asthma, autism (ASD), births, blood disorders, breastfeeding, cancer, chronic diseases, death, diabetes, disease classification, foodborne illness, genomics, growth charts, healthy water, heart disease, HIV/AIDS, immunizations, injuries & violence, life expectancy, lyme disease, MRSA, oral health, overweight & obesity, physical inactivity, reproductive health, smoking & tobacco, STDs, vital signs, workplace, etc.

The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington. The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a data catalog created and supported by IHME

The Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War.

Surveys, Polls and other data

From Harvard University
100 measures of diversity, opportunity, and quality of life for 362 metropolitan areas

Data entries include including capital punishment, community studies, corrections, courts, drugs and alcohol, and police behavior.

TeachingWithData.org is a portal where faculty can find resources and ideas to reduce the challenges of bringing real data into post-secondary classes. Using real data is a great way for students to become more engaged in the content of a course, but significant barriers, largely in terms instructor preparation, exist that can make using data a challenge.