.
Cornish Library scores.
Browsing Scores on the Shelf - Library of Congress Call Number Outline
The scores are classified using the Library of Congress call number system. All score call numbers start with M and are shelved in the Score Section next to the CD file cabinets.
If you want to browse the score shelves to see what we have, the following call number list can be helpful.
Because similar types of scores are shelved together, browsing can be useful, but it will not lead you to everything. So it's a good idea to combine browsing with searching the catalog to find scores filed in other sections.
Shortcut tip:
- Use your web browser's "FIND" function to search within this page for names of instruments or forms like: piano, saxaphone, quartet, sextet, or opera.
You can use the keyboard shortcuts Ctrl+F (Windows, Linux, and Chrome OS) or ⌘-F (Mac) to quickly open the find bar and type in your search terms. - Or you can just scan the list to see the various categories.
|
M1-2198 |
|||
|
Collections |
|||
|
M1 |
Miscellaneous collections |
||
|
M2 |
Monuments and historical sets |
||
|
M3 |
Collected works of individual composers |
||
|
M5 |
Miscellaneous collections of instrumental music |
||
|
Music for Solo Instrument |
|||
|
M6-14 |
Organ music |
||
|
M6-7 |
|
Collections |
|
|
M8 |
Sonatas |
||
|
M9 |
Suites and variations |
||
|
M10 |
Fugues |
||
|
M11 |
Other separate works |
||
|
M12-13 |
Arrangements for organ |
||
|
M14 |
Organ books, liturgical music, special occasions |
||
|
M20-39 |
Piano music |
||
|
M20-22 |
Collections |
||
|
M23 |
Sonatas |
||
|
M24 |
Suites |
||
|
M25 |
Other separate works |
||
|
M26 |
Piano, 1 hand |
||
|
M27 |
Variations |
||
|
M28 |
Marches |
||
|
M30-32 |
Dances (polkas, polonaises, waltzes, etc.) |
||
|
M32.8-M39 |
Arrangements for piano |
||
|
M40-44 |
Violin music |
||
|
M40-41 |
Collections |
||
|
M42 |
Separate works |
||
|
M43-44 |
Arrangements for violin (solo) |
||
|
M45-49 |
Viola music |
||
|
M45-46 |
Collections |
||
|
M47 |
Separate works |
||
|
M48-49 |
Arrangements for viola (solo) |
||
|
M50-54 |
Violoncello music |
||
|
M50-51 |
Collections |
||
|
M52 |
Separate works |
||
|
M53-54 |
Arrangements for violoncello (solo) |
||
|
M55-58 |
Double bass music |
||
|
M55-56 |
Collections |
||
|
M57 |
Separate works |
||
|
M58 |
Arrangements for double bass |
||
|
M60-64 |
Flute music |
||
|
M60-61 |
Collections |
||
|
M62 |
Separate works |
||
|
M63-64 |
Arrangements for flute (solo) |
||
|
M65-69 |
Oboe music |
||
|
M65-66 |
Collections |
||
|
M67 |
Separate works |
||
|
M68-69 |
Arrangements for oboe (solo) |
||
|
M70-74 |
Clarinet music |
||
|
M70-71 |
Collections |
||
|
M72 |
Separate works |
||
|
M73-74 |
Arrangements for clarinet (solo) |
||
|
M75-79 |
Bassoon or contrabassoon music |
||
|
M75-76 |
Collections |
||
|
M77 |
Separate works |
||
|
M78-79 |
Arrangements for bassoon or contrabassoon (solo) |
||
|
M80-84 |
Horn music |
||
|
M80-81 |
Collections |
||
|
M82 |
Separate works |
||
|
M83-84 |
Arrangements for horn (solo) |
||
|
M85-89 |
Trumpet music |
||
|
M85-86 |
Collections |
||
|
M87 |
Separate works |
||
|
M88-89 |
Arrangements for trumpet (solo) |
||
|
M90-94 |
Trombone (including bass trombone) music |
||
|
M90-91 |
Collections |
||
|
M92 |
Separate works |
||
|
M93-94 |
Arrangements for trombone (solo) |
||
|
M95-99 |
Tuba music |
||
|
M95-96 |
Collections |
||
|
M97 |
Separate works |
||
|
M98-99 |
Arrangements for tuba (solo) |
||
|
M105-109 |
Saxophone music |
||
|
M105-106 |
Collections |
||
|
M107 |
Separate works |
||
|
M108-109 |
Arrangements for saxophone (solo) |
||
|
M110.B33 |
Baritone/Euphonium music |
||
|
M110.E5 |
English horn music |
||
|
M110.P5 |
Piccolo music |
||
|
M110.R4 |
Recorder music |
||
|
M115-119 |
Harp music |
||
|
M115-116 |
Collections |
||
|
M117 |
Separate works |
||
|
M118-119 |
Arrangements for harp (solo) |
||
|
M125-129 |
Guitar music |
||
|
M125-126 |
Collections |
||
|
M127 |
Separate works |
||
|
M128-129 |
Arrangements for guitar (solo) |
||
|
M145-147 |
Percussion music |
||
|
M175.A4 |
Accordian music |
||
|
M175.X6 |
Xylphone/marimba/vibraphone music |
||
|
Miscellaneous Chamber Music Collections |
|||
|
M177-179 |
Collections |
||
|
Chamber Music: Duets |
|||
|
M180-195 |
With organ |
||
|
M198-216 |
Piano (4 hands, 2 pianos, etc.) |
||
|
M198 |
Piano, 3 hands |
||
|
M200-212 |
Piano, 4 hands |
||
|
M213 |
Piano, 5 or more hands |
||
|
M214-216 |
2 or more pianos |
||
|
M217-223 |
Violin and piano |
||
|
M217-218 |
Collections |
||
|
M219 |
Sonatas |
||
|
M220 |
Suites |
||
|
M221 |
Separate works |
||
|
M222-223 |
Arrangements for violin and piano |
||
|
M224-228 |
Viola and piano music |
||
|
M224-225 |
Collections |
||
|
M226 |
Separate works |
||
|
M227-228 |
Arrangements for viola and piano |
||
|
M229-236 |
Violoncello and piano music |
||
|
M229-230 |
Collections |
||
|
M231 |
Sonatas |
||
|
M232 |
Suites |
||
|
M233 |
Separate works |
||
|
M235-236 |
Arrangements for violoncello and piano |
||
|
M237-238 |
Double bass and piano music |
||
|
M237 |
Collections |
||
|
M238 |
Separate works |
||
|
M240-244 |
Flute and piano music |
||
|
M240-241 |
Collections |
||
|
M242 |
Separate works |
||
|
M243-244 |
Arrangements for flute and piano |
||
|
M245-247 |
Oboe and piano music |
||
|
M245 |
Collections |
||
|
M246 |
Separate works |
||
|
M247 |
Arrangements for oboe and piano |
||
|
M248-252 |
Clarinet and piano music |
||
|
M248-249 |
Collections |
||
|
M250 |
Separate works |
||
|
M251-252 |
Arrangements for clarinet and piano |
||
|
M253-254 |
Bassoon (or contrabassoon) and piano music |
||
|
M253 |
Collections |
||
|
M254 |
Separate works |
||
|
M255-259 |
Horn and piano music |
||
|
M255-256 |
Collections |
||
|
M257 |
Separate works |
||
|
M258-259 |
Arrangements for horn and piano |
||
|
M260-261 |
Trumpet and piano music |
||
|
M260 |
Collections |
||
|
M261 |
Separate works |
||
|
M262-263 |
Trombone (including bass trombone) and piano music |
||
|
M262 |
Collections |
||
|
M263 |
Separate works |
||
|
M264-265 |
Tuba and piano music |
||
|
M264 |
Collections |
||
|
M265 |
Separate works |
||
|
M268-269 |
Saxophone and piano music |
||
|
M268 |
Collections |
||
|
M269 |
Separate works |
||
|
M270.B37 |
Baritone/Euphonium and piano music |
||
|
M270.E5 |
English horn and piano music |
||
|
M270.P45 |
Piccolo and piano music |
||
|
M270.R4 |
Recorder and piano music |
||
|
M276-277 |
Guitar and piano music |
||
|
M276 |
Collections |
||
|
M277 |
Separate works |
||
|
M284.P4 |
Percussion (1 player) and piano music |
||
|
M284.T5 |
Timpani and piano music |
||
|
M286-287 |
Duets for two stringed instruments |
||
|
M288-289 |
Duets for two wind instruments |
||
|
M290-291 |
Duets for string and wind instruments |
||
|
M292-298.5 |
Other duets |
||
|
Chamber Music: Trios |
|||
|
M300-309 |
Trios with organ |
||
|
M310-344 |
Trios with piano |
||
|
M310-314 |
Piano and stringed instruments |
||
|
M312 |
Piano trios (Piano, violin, violoncello) |
||
|
M315-319 |
Piano and wind instruments |
||
|
M320-344 |
Other trios with piano |
||
|
M349-353 |
String trios |
||
|
M349-350 |
Collections |
||
|
M351 |
Separate works |
||
|
M352-353 |
Arrangements for string trio |
||
|
M355-359 |
Wind trios |
||
|
M355-356 |
Collections |
||
|
M357 |
Separate works |
||
|
M358-359 |
Arrangements for wind trio |
||
|
M360-364 |
String and wind trios |
||
|
M360-361 |
Collections |
||
|
M362 |
Separate works |
||
|
M363-364 |
Arrangements for string/wind trio |
||
|
M365-386 |
Other trios |
||
|
Chamber Music: Quartets |
|||
|
M400-409 |
Quartets with organ |
||
|
M410-444 |
Quartets with piano |
||
|
M410-414 |
Piano and stringed instruments |
||
|
M412.2 |
Piano Quartets (Piano, violin, viola, violoncello) |
||
|
M415-419 |
Piano and wind instruments |
||
|
M420-444 |
Other Quartets with piano |
||
|
M450-454 |
String Quartets |
||
|
M450-451 |
Collections |
||
|
M452 |
Separate works |
||
|
M453-454 |
Arrangements for string quartet |
||
|
M455-459 |
Wind Quartets |
||
|
M455-456 |
Collections |
||
|
M457 |
Separate works |
||
|
M458-459 |
Arrangements for wind quartet |
||
|
M460-464 |
String and wind Quartets |
||
|
M460-461 |
Collections |
||
|
M462 |
Separate works |
||
|
M463-464 |
Arrangements for string/wind quartet |
||
|
M465-486 |
Other Quartets |
||
|
Chamber Music: Quintets |
|||
|
M500-509 |
Quintets with organ |
||
|
510-549 |
Quintets with piano |
||
|
M510-514 |
Piano and stringed instruments |
||
|
M512 |
Piano quintets (Piano, two violins, viola, violoncello) |
||
|
M515-519 |
Piano and wind instruments |
||
|
M520-549 |
Other quintets with piano |
||
|
M550-554 |
String quintets |
||
|
M550-551 |
Collections |
||
|
M552 |
Separate works |
||
|
M553-554 |
Arrangements for string quintet |
||
|
M555-559 |
Wind quintets |
||
|
M555-556 |
Collections |
||
|
M557 |
Separate works |
||
|
M558-559 |
Arrangements for wind quintet |
||
|
M560-564 |
String and wind quintets |
||
|
M560-561 |
Collections |
||
|
M562 |
Separate works |
||
|
M563-564 |
Arrangements for string/wind quintet |
||
|
M565-586 |
Other quintets |
||
|
Chamber Music: Sextets |
|||
|
M600-609 |
Sextets with organ |
||
|
610-649 |
Sextets with piano |
||
|
M650-654 |
String sextets |
||
|
M655-659 |
Wind sextets |
||
|
M660-664 |
String and wind sextets |
||
|
M665-686 |
Other sextets |
||
|
Chamber Music: Septets |
|||
|
M700-709 |
Septets with organ |
||
|
M710-749 |
Septets with piano |
||
|
M750-754 |
String septets |
||
|
M755-759 |
Wind septets |
||
|
M760-764 |
String and wind septets |
||
|
M765-786 |
Other septets |
||
|
Chamber Music: Octets |
|||
|
M800-809 |
Octets with organ |
||
|
M810-849 |
Octets with piano |
||
|
M850-854 |
String octets |
||
|
M855-859 |
Wind octets |
||
|
M860-864 |
String and wind octets |
||
|
M865-886 |
Other octets |
||
|
Chamber Music: Nine or More Instruments 900-986 Nonets and larger combinations or purely chamber music
_______________________________________________________ |
|||
1000-1075 Orchestra
1100-1160 String Orchestra
1200-1269 Band
1270 Fife (bugle) and drum music field music, etc.
1350-1353 Reduced orchestra scores
1356-1356.2 Dance orchestra and instrumental ensembles
1360 Mandolin and similar orchestras of plucked instruments
1362 Accordion band
1363 Steel band
1365 Minstrel music
1366 Jazz ensembles
1450 Dance music
1470 Chance compositions
1473 Electronic music
1480 Music with color or light apparatus
_______________________________________________
M 1497-1998 Secular vocal music
1500-1527.8 Dramatic music, i.e. theater vocal scores
1528-1529.5 Duets, trios, etc., for voices
1530-1546.5 Choruses with orchestra or other ensemble
1547-1600 Choruses, part-songs, etc., with accompaniment of keyboard
or other solo instrument, or unaccompanied
1608 Choruses, etc., in tonic sol-fa notation
1609 Unison choruses
1610 Cantatas, choral symphonies, etc., for unaccompanied chorus
(secular and sacred) with or without solo voices
1625-1626 Recitations with music
1627-1853 National music
________________________________________________
M 1999-2199 Sacred vocal music
1999 Collections
2000-2007 Oratorios
2010-2017.6 Services
2018-2019.5 Duets, trios, etc. for solo voices
2020-2036 Choruses, cantatas, etc.
2060-2101.5 Choruses, part-songs, etc., with accompaniment of keyboard
or other solo instrument, or unaccompanied
2102-2114.8 Songs
2115-2146 Hymnals. Hymn collections
2147-2188 Liturgy and ritual
2147-2155.6 Roman Catholic Church
2156-2160.87 Orthodox churches
2161-2183 Protestant churches
2184 Other Christian churches
2186-2187 Sacred vocal music for children
2198-2199 Gospel, revival, temperance, etc. songs