We are NewYork is a TV show designed to help people practice English. You can improve your listening by watching a series of episodes. These episodes are created on real life topics, such as school, love, money.etc. You can learn English phrases and words for use in realistic situations

A free website where you can listen to short, real life stories. It also use games and quizzes to strengthen your understanding of the story and new vocabulary.

USA Learns English is a free online website, sponsored by the US Department of Education, geared towards helping adult immigrants with limited understanding of the English language. This website includes fun videos and activities.You can choose the topics, and difficulty level and learn at your own pace.

TED is a nonprofit dedicated to spreading bright ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks around 15 minutes. Talks are accompanied by transcripts. Several benefits for watching these talks: 1) Improve your listening. 2) Learn presentation skills. 3) Stretch your thinking 4) Keep you updated on trends in your field.

Do you want to learn English as American kids? If so, use BookFlix. You will build up your English by reading fun fiction and non-fiction e-books, learn different subjects, watch interesting videos and play games. Have fun!

You will need a Seattle Public Library card to access this resource. As a student at Cornish, you can get one for free from any Seattle library. Ask your Cornish librarians for assistance with this - they are happy to help!

Cornish College subscribes to Pronunciator, an online program for learning a variety of languages, including American English.

Once you connect to the site you will need to register a personal login and password so the system can track your progress.

The Seattle Public Library has an English as a Second Language and Literacy Program. Attending their talk time and ESL classes will give you chance to speak English with real people and get support in a learning community.

This is a comprehensive English learning website, including grammar, vocabulary, slang and pronunciation sections. In the pronunciation section, it teaches you how to pronounce the 44 sounds of English. If you are not confident in your pronunciation, it is a good guide to correct your accent.

In American society, networking and social skills are very important for professional development. If you want to find people who have the same interest as you or who have the profession you want to pursue, join local meetup groups, making friends with them and honing your English.

The Writing Center provides Cornish students with free personalized writing support through individualized half-hour conferences. Writers visit the Writing Center to chat with consultants about any kind of writing, such as:

class essays
creative writing
presentations
resumes and cover letters
artist statements
anything else they’re composing

Located in MCC 212, conveniently next door to the library. Not only can writers address all of their research and writing needs in one corridor, our new digs also come with a cozy lounge with sofa and chairs. We still have the usual amenities of various writing spaces, including tables for group or individual work, and nine PC computer workstations.

Can’t make it in? Submit your writing online 24 hours a day! See the website for details.

If it is your first time working with English academic writing, please read this first. This article gives you an idea of the writing standards in American colleges and strategies you can use in your writing.

Different education systems have different definitions and emphasis on plagiarism. In U.S. universities, plagiarism is considered a *serious* offense and in worst case, students can be expelled from colleges for it. Therefore, please read this article carefully before you use others' writing or words.

The Literacy Collection includes books, cassettes, videos and CDs for adults to improve their reading, writing and math skills. ~SPL website

This is a must have reference book for any student and conscientious writer. It provides fundamental rules of writing. For ESL learners, it gives you a picture what excellent writing would be look like. If you are unclear about how to structure a sentence or how to use punctuation in a appropriate way, check this out!

Do you feel that learning grammar is boring and exhausting? Here is a site where you can learn grammar in a fun and exciting way while diagramming sentences.

Google is a great reference tool. You can use Google to check your grammar, spelling or expressions. For example, if you are not sure whether 'on the Internet' or 'in the Internet' is the right phrase, the fastest way to get the answer is typing "on the Internet" in the Google search box to see whether others use it that way and then follow the same procedure with "in the Internet." In this case, you will find all the sentences are written with "on the Internet". So "in the Internet " is incorrect. You can also use Google to find the accurate spelling of the word you are looking for. For example, you learned a new word a few days ago, but you forget how to spell it now. Type the partial word you remember into the Google box. Google will show you the possible right word - be sure to check the definition!

Sometimes, an image can explain the meaning of words better than words. For example,you don't know what's the difference between "soccer" and "football". The best way is searching these terms in Google Image. When you see their pictures, you will exactly know what the difference is.

Google Translate supports 90 languages. If you have a chunk of text in English but have a hard time understanding it, you can paste it to the translate box and translate it to your native Language. Even though the translation won't be perfect, it still can help you understand the overall meaning of the paragraph.

This is a free dictionary and multi-language translation software. It offers lookup dictionaries, full text translation, capture word on screen, translate selected text and pronunciation of words in over 80 languages. If you are reading an article online and encounter an unknown English word, just put your cursor upon it.This software will show the meaning of this word and pronounce the word for you.

A question and answer site for speakers of other languages learning English. You can ask any questions you have in learning English. People who (hopefully) know the answer will respond to you.

In this dictionary, all words are categorized by themes, which include Art, Architecture and Clothing. This is great tool for you to acquaint yourself with the terminology in Art and Design.

This is an online dictionary designed for English Learners. This Website can help you prepare your SAT, GRE,TOEFL,etc. and learn words in a particular subject. It also has quizes and games, which help you master the vocabulary in a fun way. For example, the dictionary has a Fine & Performing Arts Study Guides where you can learn the meaning of Shakespearian vocabulary in Hamlet. In addition, you can sign up the "Word of the Day" on the home page. The website will send you a new word and its usage everyday via email. Spending 5 minutes on reading is an easy way to expand your vocabulary.