Search Tips
|
image courtesy of Pixabay |
To find more, try searching the Cornish Library Catalog for keywords such as: alternative photographic processes TIP: Try truncating your search term with * to include all spellings. Example: alternative proc* |
Seattle Public Library Special Collections
The Seattle Public Library has over 30,000 historical photographs in their collection, many of which can be viewed in their Seattle Room. They also have an almost complete set of Camera Work, the quarterly photography journal printed by Alfred Stieglitz from 1903 to 1917. This journal helped to establish photography as a fine art, and includes high-quality photogravures from important photographers. Request to see them in the Seattle Room.
Hugh and Jane Ferguson Seattle Room Hours
Seattle Public Library, Floor 10
Monday - Thursday: 11 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Friday: Closed
Saturday - Sunday: 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Visit their website to learn more about the Seattle Public Library's special collections.
Videos in the Cornish Library
-
The Pencil of nature [videorecording] byPublication Date: 2004An overview of the early history of photography. Discusses The Pencil of nature, by William Henry Fox Talbot, the first book with photographs used as illustrations.
Books in the Cornish Library - Historical Photographers
-
Eugene Atget
by
Call Number: TR 653 A843 1980ISBN: 0893817503Publication Date: 2005-06-15Documented old Paris in the late 1800s using dry plate negatives and albumen prints. -
Icons of Photography
by
Call Number: TR 651 I26 2002ISBN: 3791327712Publication Date: 2002-10-01Includes works made using an extensive range of early photographic techniques and examines the enduring legacy of photography's pioneers. -
William Henry Fox Talbot
by
Call Number: TR 651 B38 2008ISBN: 9780714841984Publication Date: 2008-06-12Examines the work of William Henry Fox Talbot, often considered to be the father of modern photography. -
Julia Margaret Cameron's Women
by
Call Number: TR 681 W6 W64 1998ISBN: 0300077815Publication Date: 1998-09-29Manipulated the wet collodion process to create soft focus portraits, often with influences from legends and myths. -
Framing the West
by
Call Number: TR 660.5 F73 2010ISBN: 9780300158915Publication Date: 2010-03-23Analysis on O’Sullivan's historic survey photographs of the western United States.
Books in the Cornish Library - Historical Processes
-
Reflections in Black: A History of Black Photographers
by
Call Number: TR 23 W55 2000ISBN: 0393048802Publication Date: 2000-06-17History of African American photographers from 1840 to the early 2000s. -
Photospeak
by
Call Number: Ref TR 15 M63 1998ISBN: 0789200686Publication Date: 1998-03-01Note: In-library use only
The history of photography from 1839-1998. Includes an excellent timeline and a chart of photography movements. -
The Rise of Photography, 1850-1880: The Age of Collodion
by
Call Number: TR 15 G37 1982 v2ISBN: 0500973490Publication Date: 1989-01-01Follows the developments in the art and science of photography from the invention of the wet-collodion process through the evolution of dry plates. -
Hidden Witness
by
Call Number: TR 680 W55 1999ISBN: 0312245467Publication Date: 2000-01-01An invaluable compilation of rare photographs of Civil War era African-Americans. -
Care and Identification of Nineteenth Century Photographic Prints
by
Call Number: TR 465 R45 1986ISBN: 0879853654Publication Date: 1998-06-01A fully illustrated comprehensive reference on all aspects of the care and identification of 19th-century photographic prints. Excellent for anyone who is a serious collector or has an interest in preserving old pictures. -
America and the Daguerreotype
by
Call Number: TR 365 A47 1991ISBN: 0877453349Publication Date: 1991-10-01Explores the daguerreotype as a social and historical object. Includes images and analytical essays. -
Photography in Nineteenth-Century America
by
Call Number: TR 23 P48 1991ISBN: 0883600676Publication Date: 1991-01-01A look at photography in 19th century American culture, told through essays and photographs. -
American Photographs: the first century from the Isaacs collection in the National Museum of American Art
by
Call Number: TR 645 W18 N37ISBN: 1560987189Publication Date: 1996-12-17Nineteenth-century America vividly brought to life in the National Museum of American Art’s Charles Isaacs Collection. Presents a wide-ranging selection of photographs from this collection, including Civil War images by Alexander Gardner and the Mathew Brady Studio and spectacular western landscapes by Timothy O’Sullivan and William Henry Jackson. -
Working Stiffs: Occupational Portraits in the Age of Tintypes
by
Call Number: TR 375 C37 2002ISBN: 1588340678Publication Date: 2002-09-17For the first time, tintypes provided working class Americans of the 19th century with the opportunity to acquire cheap portraits of themselves and loved ones. This book contains more than eighty examples of these tintypes. -
Focus East
by
Call Number: TR 113.5 P47ISBN: 0810909243Publication Date: 1988-09-01Gathers photographs of the nineteenth century Middle East and offers brief profiles of early photographers. -
19th and 20th century photographs
by
Call Number: TR 650 L86Publication Date: 1976Examples of 19th and 20th century photographs from the Lunn Gallery. -
The Printed Picture
by
Call Number: TR 15 B46 2008ISBN: 9780870707216Publication Date: 2008-10-01Traces the evolution of photography from the Renaissance to present. -
The Art of the Daguerreotype
by
Call Number: TR 365 R5ISBN: 9780670826889Publication Date: 1989-11-0265 daguerreotypes from Richter's collection. Includes full color images to depict hand-tinted daguerreotypes. -
Photography in America
by
Call Number: TR 23 W44 1978ISBN: 0690014511Publication Date: 1978-01-01History of photography in the USA from 1839-1900.
