Databases for Popular and Scholarly Sources
This section contains links to some helpful databases for library research in your class.
Film & Media Databases:
-
Film & Television Literature Index:
A tool for film and television research featuring abstracts for over 380 journals, as well as full-text sources for more than 120 journals and 100 books. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive free of charge. -
MLA International Bibliography:
A comprehensive database for books, academic journals, dissertations, and websites published on literature, modern languages, film, folklore, and more. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). -
Communication & Mass Media Complete:
Full-text and abstract resources for communication and media studies, mass media, and popular culture.
Interdisciplinary Databases:
- Academic Search Complete:
Search more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- JSTOR:
This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology. - Project MUSE:This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
-
This link opens in a new windowFrom business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,000 titlesnearly 2,800 in full textfrom 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
