Online Script Resources
Use these databases and websites to find plays that the Cornish Library (and/or SPL) may not have in its collection.
CAVEAT: Some of these databases are fee-based. Youmay need to pay to download/purchase plays.
Questions? Ask a Librarian !
-
American Theatre via ProQuestAmerican Theatre publishes one full-length contemporary script per issue. Search the play title in the ProQuest; many are available full-text. The Cornish Library also subscribes to American Theatre magazine in print.
-
FINDaPLAY.comThe FINDaPLAY database is provided by Playscripts, Inc. as a free service. The FINDaPLAY database includes author, title, and publisher information for plays and musicals licensed by major dramatic publishers.
Use the "Advanced Search" to search by DURATION, as well as title, author, etc. -
indie theater nowCurated, expanding digital library of plays by select indie playwrights, mostly NYC-based.
Fee-based structure; you must pay to read scripts, but they remain in your digital library.
"Browse Plays" and then "Browse by Cast Size & Technical Requirements" to find 10-Minute Plays. Not able to search by "One-Act." -
New Play ExchangeThe New Play Exchange (NPX) is a cloud-based script database. The NPX lets writers share scripts and helps theaters discover and evaluate them. Search by play title, or playwright's name. Free basic subscription will suit most student actors, as well as paid subscriptions for more in-depth access.
-
PlayscriptsPlayscripts, Inc. publishes contemporary one-act (and full-length) plays. Choose a play from their top ten list, or run a targeted search.
Read script samples for free online. However, you must pay to purchase scripts and performance rights.
Search the Cornish Library Catalog
Search the Cornish Library Catalog using the Advanced Search
Enter a keyword, or the play's title and/or author. To get the most relevant results, limit your search to Scripts, by checking the box under "Item Type"
You can also narrow by publication date, to find the most contemporary titles; for example, "2005-2015." Remember, however, that not everything published in a given year is contemporary to that year. A new critical edition of Hamlet might have been published in 2015!
Search the Seattle Public Library's Play File
The Seattle Public Library (SPL) keeps most of its plays in a special collection called the Play File. It's located on Level 9 of the Central branch of SPL.
Don't have a library card for SPL? It's easy to get one: Apply online
-
Seattle Public Library Catalog: Searching for ScriptsUse the Advanced Search to search the Play File. Choose "Play File" in the "Collections" drop-down menu.
Search WorldCat.org -- Interlibrary Loan
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Use WorldCat.org to find a script, then request to borrow it using the Cornish Library's Interlibrary Loan service.