Online Script Resources
Use these databases and websites to find plays that the Cornish Library may not have in its collection. (HINT: you can request to borrow a copy through Interlibrary Loan!)
CAVEAT: These databases are mostly fee-based, i.e. you must pay to download/purchase plays.
Questions? Ask a Librarian !
-
American Theatre Magazine Script Archive1985- present. FREE! Contains an alphabetical list of plays that have been published in American Theatre, organized by last name of the playwright. Once you have found a play, search for the specific issue in the Library Catalog. You can also find the full-text digital version in ProQuest.
-
FINDaPLAY.comThe FINDaPLAY database is provided by Playscripts, Inc. as a free service. The FINDaPLAY database includes author, title, and publisher information for plays and musicals licensed by major dramatic publishers.
Use the "Advanced Search" to search by DURATION, as well as title, author, etc. -
indie theater nowCurated, expanding digital library of plays by select indie playwrights, mostly NYC-based.
Fee-based structure; you must pay to read scripts, but they remain in your digital library.
"Browse Plays" and then "Browse by Cast Size & Technical Requirements" to find 10-Minute Plays. Not able to search by "One-Act." -
New Play ExchangeThe New Play Exchange (NPX) is a cloud-based script database. The NPX lets writers share scripts and helps theaters discover and evaluate them. Search by play title, or playwright's name. Free basic subscription will suit most student actors, as well as paid subscriptions for more in-depth access.
-
Original WorksOriginal Works Publishing is a publishing and licensing house for original new plays. They do not publish adaptations, translations, musicals, or works for young audiences. Their website conveniently breaks down its catalog by "One Act," "10 Minute," and "Monologues" (which in this case, means SOLO performance!)
-
Playscripts, Inc.Playscripts, Inc. publishes contemporary one-act (and full-length) plays. Choose a play from their top ten list, or run a targeted search.
Read script samples for free online. However, you must pay to purchase scripts and performance rights. -
TheatreForum IndexTheatreForum is an international journal of performance , covering artists in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Americas. Its focus is on innovative, contemporary performance. Each issue includes at least two previously unpublished scripts, as well as photographs and articles.
Use the Index to browse or search by playwright. Then use the Library Catalog to find the specific issue.
Search the Seattle Public Library's Play File
The Seattle Public Library(SPL) keeps most of its plays in a special collection called the Play File. It's located on Level 9 of the Central branch of SPL.
You can search the Play File by using the link below --
On the Advanced Search screen, choose the Collection: Level 9 Play File.
Enter the Keyword: one act
Click Search.
Voilà! One Act Plays!!
HINT: Follow the same process for 10-minute plays, substituting the keywords "10 minute" or "ten minute" for "one act."
Don't have a library card for SPL? It's easy to get one: Apply online
-
Seattle Public Library Catalog: Searching for ScriptsUse the Advanced Search to search the Play File. Choose "Play File" in the "Collections" drop-down menu.
Search WorldCat.org -- Interlibrary Loan
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Use WorldCat.org to find a script, then request to borrow it using the Cornish Library's Interlibrary Loan service.
Click here to fill out an Interlibrary Loan request.
-
WorldCat This link opens in a new windowSearch library collections locally and nationwide to see what they own.