Databases - For journal and newspaper articles.
Britannica Encyclopedia
Get summary articles on Chicago, the civil rights movement; whatever you need introductory information on.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
Search theater journals for articles on Raisin in the Sun, Lorraine Hansberry, African American Theater, or other theater related topics.
ProQuest Database
Online index to journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Coverage is from roughly 1988 to the present. It has many full-text articles you can print or email to yourself.
New York Times Historical Backfiles (available from Seattle Public Library)
Seattle Public Library card number required to log in.
New York Times articles from 1851-2001. Excellent source of Raisin performance reviews. Also useful for information about people and current events in the 1950's.
Advanced search by date-range
BASIC
Google Books has a basic search box for each magazine issue or you can click the option to search all issues.
ADVANCED
If you want to search by a specific date range follow these instructions:
When you've linked to one of the magazines,
click on Settings 
in the upper right corner and choose Advanced Book Search.
Step 1. KEYWORD SEARCH
Put your keyword(s) in the box marked
Find results / with all the words ______________.
Step 2. MAGAZINE TITLE
Put the magazine title in the box marked
Title / Return books with the title ______________.
Step 3. DATE RANGE
Put the range of dates you want to search in the boxes marked
Publication Date / Return content published between Month/Year and Month/Year.
Online Magazines in Google Books - Good for pictorial content.
 |
Jet magazine. 1950's back-issues available through Google Books. Jet is a perfect resource for a national overview of popular culture, arts, fashion, and politics from the perspective of an African-American owned publication. It was published in Chicago and includes Chicago news and commentary. |
 |
Ebony magazine. Back issues start with November 1959, so doesn't cover all the 1950's. Since Raisin in the Sun was produced in 1959, you can still find articles related to the play in issues from the 1960's and beyond. Same publisher as Jet, but with more in-depth articles and more pictorial content. Popular culture, arts, fashion, and politics. Cover at left shows Claudia McNeil as Lena Younger (Mama) from Raisin in the Sun. |
|
|
Life magazine. 1950's back-issues available through Google Books. Good source for 1950's current events. |